GLP-1 Weight Loss in Mobile, AL: What Local Clinics Charge (When They'll Say)

Mobile's 40.0% obesity rate, Alabama's April 2026 PDL carve-outs, one promotional local price out of six clinics, and a countywide low-income shortage.

40.0% of Mobile adults have obesity (CDC PLACES 2025 release, crude prevalence, BRFSS 2023) 1 against Alabama's 39.2% state rate 2. One methodology note worth keeping straight: the obesity figure's population base (187,041) sits on Mobile's pre-July-2023-annexation boundary, while the current city population, 201,355, is post-annexation 3. CDC also reports a 40.7% age-adjusted rate alongside the 40.0% crude rate used here, and crude is what's directly comparable to the state figure.

Mobile sits in a 412,590-person metro with a median household income of $55,307 34. Its 7.5% uninsured rate is a best-available estimate derived by summing every "no coverage" cell across ACS table B27001 for the city, not a single published Census headline stat 3.

County
Mobile County
City population
201,3553
Metro population
412,5904
Adult obesity rate (2023)
40%1
Statewide comparison
39.2%2
Uninsured rate
7.5%3
Median household income
$55,3073
Clinician shortage context
HRSA lists 5 currently-designated Primary Care HPSAs touching Mobile County (BCD_HPSA_FCT_DET_PC.csv, pulled Aug 27–28, 2026): 3 are facility-based FQHCs physically in Mobile — Mobile County Board of Health (score 20, service population 112,240), Franklin Primary Health Center, Inc. (score 18, population 150,928), and AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc. (score 20, population 85,557) — plus one FQHC just outside city limits in Irvington (Bayou La Batre Area Health Development Board, score 20, population 25,913). A fifth designation, "LI – Mobile County," is a countywide Low-Income Population HPSA (score 18) with a designated population of 152,169 and a formal provider ratio of 6,767:1 — meaning low-income residents across the whole county, not just one clinic's patients, carry an official primary-care shortage designation. Mental Health HPSA data mirrors this almost exactly: the same 4 facility-based sites carry active Mental Health designations (scores 21–23), with no additional countywide mental-health designation found.56
Specialist access
The HRSA shortage designations sit at the primary-care and low-income layer, not the specialist layer. Healthgrades lists roughly 80 endocrinology, diabetes, and metabolism physicians within 12 miles of Mobile, and USA Health — the region's academic health system — runs a dedicated West Mobile Endocrine & Diabetes clinic and a separate Center for Comprehensive Weight Loss (6304 USA Health Blvd.) offering physician-guided medical weight-loss programs plus full bariatric surgery (Roux-en-Y gastric bypass, sleeve gastrectomy, and biliopancreatic diversion with duodenal switch) through Providence Hospital, an MBSAQIP-accredited metabolic and bariatric surgery center. For patients who can get in the door, Mobile is not a specialist-access desert; the documented shortage is concentrated among low-income and uninsured residents at the primary-care layer, which is also where most self-pay GLP-1 seekers land.13141516
Medicaid coverage note
Alabama has not expanded Medicaid — it remains one of 10 states that haven't adopted expansion as of August 2026 (KFF, updated Aug 21, 2026). Expanding would extend eligibility to an estimated 300,000–365,000 additional Alabamians (healthinsurance.org, updated Feb 2026); no expansion vote is currently scheduled in the legislature. For GLP-1s specifically, Alabama Medicaid's April 2026 Preferred Drug List does not cover Wegovy or Zepbound for weight loss alone: Zepbound is covered only for obstructive sleep apnea with obesity, and Wegovy requires prior authorization tied to its FDA-label cardiovascular-risk-reduction (or OSA/MASH) indications — not weight loss. Ozempic and Mounjaro remain covered for type 2 diabetes with prior authorization after a metformin trial. Net effect: most Mobile residents seeking a GLP-1 purely for weight loss — on Medicaid or otherwise uninsured — are self-pay.171819

Alabama's April 2026 PDL keeps weight-loss-only use out

Alabama has not expanded Medicaid, remaining one of 10 states that haven't adopted expansion as of August 2026 (KFF, updated Aug 21, 2026) 18. Expanding would extend eligibility to an estimated 300,000 to 365,000 additional Alabamians (healthinsurance.org, updated Feb 2026) 19; no expansion vote is currently scheduled in the legislature.

For GLP-1s specifically, Alabama Medicaid's April 2026 Preferred Drug List does not cover Wegovy or Zepbound for weight loss alone: Zepbound is covered only for obstructive sleep apnea with obesity, and Wegovy requires prior authorization tied to its FDA-label cardiovascular-risk-reduction (or OSA/MASH) indications, not weight loss. Ozempic and Mounjaro remain covered for type 2 diabetes with prior authorization after a metformin trial 17. Net effect: most Mobile residents seeking a GLP-1 purely for weight loss, on Medicaid or otherwise uninsured, are self-pay.

What GLP-1 care costs in Mobile today

Of six physically-confirmed Mobile GLP-1 clinics, exactly one publishes any dollar figure, and even that is a first-month promotional rate. Medi-Weightloss at 4407 Old Shell Rd, Suite D lists compounded semaglutide "$99 first month," compounded tirzepatide "$199 first month," membership plans "starting at $199/month" on 1/3/6-month terms, and a "$199 one-time new patient visit." Its own page flags these as promotional starting rates and tells patients to "contact your local Medi-Weightloss clinic for complete pricing details," so the steady-state monthly cost after month one is not disclosed. Checked Aug 28, 2026 7.

Greater Mobile Medical Weight Loss Clinic sits literally next door at 4402 B Old Shell Rd with extensive GLP-1 patient-education content and no dollar figure 8. Connexus Clinic 9, Gameday Men's Health 10, and Slim Weight Loss Clinic 11 each run a Mobile semaglutide or location page with no price published, all checked Aug 28, 2026. Sanctuary Wellness Institute was excluded after its locations page confirmed no physical Mobile office 12.

Astra's price is $68/month for semaglutide and $118/month for tirzepatide, 12-month plans, the same price every month and in every state. A first-month promo can look lower up front; what nobody local discloses is month two.

Eighty endocrinologists, and a 6,767:1 low-income primary-care ratio

HRSA lists 5 currently-designated Primary Care HPSAs touching Mobile County (pulled Aug 27-28, 2026): three facility-based FQHCs physically in Mobile, Mobile County Board of Health (score 20, service population 112,240), Franklin Primary Health Center, Inc. (score 18, population 150,928), and AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc. (score 20, population 85,557), plus one FQHC just outside city limits in Irvington (Bayou La Batre Area Health Development Board, score 20, population 25,913). A fifth, "LI - Mobile County," is a countywide Low-Income Population HPSA (score 18) with a designated population of 152,169 and a formal provider ratio of 6,767:1. Mental Health data mirrors this almost exactly, with the same four facility sites carrying active designations at scores 21-23 and no additional countywide mental-health designation found 56.

Those designations sit at the primary-care and low-income layer, not the specialist layer. Healthgrades lists roughly 80 endocrinology, diabetes, and metabolism physicians within 12 miles of Mobile 16, and USA Health, the region's academic system, runs a dedicated West Mobile Endocrine & Diabetes clinic 15 and a separate Center for Comprehensive Weight Loss at 6304 USA Health Blvd. offering physician-guided medical weight-loss programs 13 plus full bariatric surgery, Roux-en-Y gastric bypass, sleeve gastrectomy, and biliopancreatic diversion with duodenal switch, through Providence Hospital, an MBSAQIP-accredited center 14.

For patients who can get in the door, Mobile is not a specialist-access desert; the documented shortage is concentrated among low-income and uninsured residents at the primary-care layer, which is exactly where most self-pay GLP-1 seekers land. Telehealth removes that door. See the Alabama GLP-1 overview for statewide context.

Astra treats patients in Alabama through state-licensed physicians.

Local options

  • Medi-Weightloss (Mobile) — 4407 Old Shell Rd, Suite D, Mobile, AL 36608 — the one clinic of six checked that actually publishes dollar figures: compounded semaglutide "$99 first month," compounded tirzepatide "$199 first month," membership plans "starting at $199/month" (1/3/6-month terms), plus a "$199 one-time new patient visit." The page itself flags these as promotional/starting rates and tells patients to "contact your local Medi-Weightloss clinic for complete pricing details" — steady-state monthly cost after the first month is not disclosed. https://mediweightloss.com/weight-loss-clinic/mobile/ (checked 2026-08-28)
  • Greater Mobile Medical Weight Loss Clinic — 4402 B Old Shell Rd, Mobile, AL 36608 — literally next door to Medi-Weightloss. Extensive GLP-1 patient-education FAQ content on its own site, but no dollar figure anywhere on the page; it states only that compounded medication is offered "at a very competitive, low price" and routes patients to book an appointment. https://greatermobileweightloss.com/faqs.html (checked 2026-08-28)
  • Connexus Clinic — 2864 Dauphin St, Suite A, Mobile, AL 36606 — confirmed physical Mobile clinic with a live semaglutide information page, but it publishes no price; content directs visitors to "Book an Appointment" for consult and pricing. Two more in-city clinics checked show the same pattern: Gameday Men's Health (1110 Montlimar Dr #605) and Slim Weight Loss Clinic (500 Boulevard Park E Ste 117a) — both confirmed physical Mobile addresses, neither publishes a price. https://www.theconnexusclinic.com/all-about-semaglutide-for-weight-loss-in-mobile-al/ (checked 2026-08-28)

Frequently asked questions

How much does semaglutide or tirzepatide cost in Mobile, AL?

Local pricing is hard to pin down. Of six Mobile clinics checked, only Medi-Weightloss (4407 Old Shell Rd.) publishes a number: a $99 first-month rate for compounded semaglutide and $199 for compounded tirzepatide, plus a $199 new-patient visit fee — but the page itself says to "contact your local Medi-Weightloss clinic for complete pricing details," so the ongoing monthly cost isn't disclosed. Astra's price is fixed and published everywhere: $68/month for semaglutide and $118/month for tirzepatide on a 12-month plan, with no first-month promo that changes later.

Is Astra cheaper than local Mobile weight-loss clinics?

It depends what you compare it to, because most Mobile clinics don't publish an ongoing price to compare against. Medi-Weightloss's advertised $99–$199 first-month offers are lower than Astra's $68–$118 monthly rate up front, but those are promotional starting prices, not what patients pay in month two and beyond — which Medi-Weightloss doesn't disclose. Astra's $68/mo semaglutide and $118/mo tirzepatide (12-month plans) are the same price in month one and month twelve, with nothing to call and ask about.

Do Mobile weight-loss clinics publish their GLP-1 prices, or do you have to call?

Mostly you have to call. Of six physical Mobile clinics checked, five — Greater Mobile Medical Weight Loss, Connexus Clinic, Gameday Men's Health, and Slim Weight Loss Clinic among them — publish patient-education content about GLP-1s but no dollar figures, directing visitors to book a consult for pricing. Only Medi-Weightloss lists numbers, and only for the first month.

Is Mobile, Alabama a health professional shortage area for primary care?

Yes, in part. HRSA's live shortage-area data (checked Aug 27–28, 2026) designates Mobile County's low-income population as a Primary Care Health Professional Shortage Area, with a formal provider ratio of 6,767:1 — plus four Mobile-area facility-based clinics (Mobile County Board of Health, Franklin Primary Health Center, AltaPointe Health Systems, and Bayou La Batre Area Health Development Board) carrying their own shortage designations. That shortage sits at the primary-care and low-income layer; specialist access for obesity care is comparatively strong, with roughly 80 endocrinology and metabolism physicians within 12 miles per Healthgrades.

Are GLP-1 medications like Wegovy or Zepbound covered by Alabama Medicaid?

Not for weight loss alone. Alabama's April 2026 Medicaid Preferred Drug List covers Zepbound only for obstructive sleep apnea with obesity, and Wegovy only under prior authorization tied to its cardiovascular-risk-reduction (or OSA/MASH) label — not simple weight loss. Ozempic and Mounjaro are covered for type 2 diabetes with prior authorization after a metformin trial. Alabama also hasn't expanded Medicaid; it's one of 10 states that haven't as of August 2026 (KFF), so most Mobile residents seeking a GLP-1 for weight loss are self-pay regardless of insurance status.

Sources

  1. CDC PLACES 2025 release — Mobile city obesity, crude prevalence 40.0% (BRFSS 2023, Socrata eav7-hnsx) — https://data.cdc.gov/500-Cities-Places/PLACES-Local-Data-for-Better-Health-Place-Data-20/eav7-hnsx
  2. CDC Nutrition, Physical Activity & Obesity — BRFSS, Alabama state obesity 2023 (Socrata hn4x-zwk7) — https://data.cdc.gov/Nutrition-Physical-Activity-and-Obesity/Nutrition-Physical-Activity-and-Obesity-Behavior/hn4x-zwk7
  3. Census Reporter — Mobile city, AL profile (ACS 2024 1-yr, tables B01003/B19013/B27001) — http://censusreporter.org/profiles/16000US0150000-mobile-al/
  4. Census Reporter API — Mobile, AL Metro Area (CBSA 33660), ACS 2024 5-yr, table B01003 — https://api.censusreporter.org/1.0/data/show/latest?table_ids=B01003&geo_ids=31000US33660
  5. HRSA Data Downloads — Primary Care HPSA facility/detail file — https://data.hrsa.gov/DataDownload/DD_Files/BCD_HPSA_FCT_DET_PC.csv
  6. HRSA Data Downloads — Mental Health HPSA facility/detail file — https://data.hrsa.gov/DataDownload/DD_Files/BCD_HPSA_FCT_DET_MH.csv
  7. Medi-Weightloss — Mobile, AL clinic page (published starting prices, checked Aug 28, 2026) — https://mediweightloss.com/weight-loss-clinic/mobile/
  8. Greater Mobile Medical Weight Loss Clinic — FAQ (no price published, checked Aug 28, 2026) — https://greatermobileweightloss.com/faqs.html
  9. Connexus Clinic — Mobile, AL semaglutide page (no price published, checked Aug 28, 2026) — https://www.theconnexusclinic.com/all-about-semaglutide-for-weight-loss-in-mobile-al/
  10. Gameday Men's Health — Mobile, AL semaglutide page (no price published, checked Aug 28, 2026) — https://gamedaymenshealth.com/mobile-al/semaglutide-weight-loss-injections/
  11. Slim Weight Loss Clinic — Mobile, AL location page (no price published, checked Aug 28, 2026) — https://slimweightlossclinic.com/locations/mobile-al/
  12. Sanctuary Wellness Institute — locations page (confirms no physical Mobile office; excluded from local market) — https://sanctuarywellnessinstitute.com/locations.php
  13. USA Health — Center for Comprehensive Weight Loss — https://www.usahealthsystem.com/locations/weight-loss-center
  14. USA Health — Bariatric Surgery program (Providence Hospital, MBSAQIP-accredited) — https://www.usahealthsystem.com/services/bariatric-surgery
  15. USA Health — West Mobile Endocrine & Diabetes clinic — https://www.usahealthsystem.com/locations/west-mobile-endocrine-diabetes
  16. Healthgrades — Endocrinology/Diabetes/Metabolism directory, Mobile AL (~80 providers within 12 miles) — https://www.healthgrades.com/diabetes-metabolism-endocrinology-directory/al-alabama/mobile
  17. Weight Loss Rankings — Alabama Medicaid GLP-1 Coverage 2026 (PDL, prior-authorization pathway) — https://www.weightlossrankings.org/research/alabama-medicaid-glp1-coverage-pa-pathway
  18. KFF — Status of State Medicaid Expansion Decisions (updated Aug 21, 2026) — https://www.kff.org/medicaid/issue-brief/status-of-state-medicaid-expansion-decisions/
  19. healthinsurance.org — Alabama Medicaid guide (updated Feb 2026; 300,000–365,000 eligibility estimate) — https://www.healthinsurance.org/medicaid/alabama/

Last reviewed:

Educational information, not medical advice. Treatment requires evaluation by a licensed physician.