GLP-1 Weight Loss in Tallahassee, FL: Deep Specialist Bench, Narrow Public Coverage, No Local Price Under $100

Tallahassee against Florida on obesity, Leon County's low-income HPSA designations beside two bariatric centers, three published local price structures, and Florida's non-expansion status.

Tallahassee's crude adult obesity prevalence is 34.1% (CDC PLACES 2025 release, BRFSS 2023) 1 against Florida's 30.1% 3, with Leon County as a whole at 33.1% 2, a four-point gap between the capital city and its state.

The city has 204,902 residents inside a 397,442-person metro, a median household income of $56,511, and an 8.5% uninsured rate derived from ACS 2024 coverage tables 4567.

County
Leon County
City population
204,9025
Metro population
397,4424
Adult obesity rate (2023)
34.1%12
Statewide comparison
30.1%3
Uninsured rate
8.5%7
Median household income
$56,5116
Clinician shortage context
Leon County carries three active/recent HRSA low-income-population HPSA designations, all population-group (not whole-county geographic) shortages: Primary Care (score 16, designated 11/10/2003, base population 96,509, ~34,597 estimated underserved), Mental Health (score 18, designated 9/24/2001, same 96,509 base, ~68,051 estimated underserved), and Dental Health (score 19, designated 9/1/2022, base 102,787, ~87,587 estimated underserved — status currently 'Proposed For Withdrawal'). Leon County's general population is not classified as under-provided; its low-income/Medicaid-eligible residents specifically are, for both primary care and behavioral health.89
Specialist access
Better than the tier-2 norm on paper: Tallahassee Memorial HealthCare runs the region's only MBSAQIP-accredited bariatric surgery program (two fellowship-trained surgeons, robotic platform) plus a TMH Physician Partners – Endocrinology, Obesity & Diabetes practice, and HCA Florida Capital Hospital runs a second, separate Bariatric Center — unusual specialist depth for a metro of about 397,000, likely tied to Tallahassee's role as state capital and its FSU-anchored government/academic employment base. The gap isn't specialist scarcity — it's the HRSA-designated low-income-population shortage in primary care and mental health (see hpsaSummary): general-population access to weight-management specialists looks solid; access for the low-income subgroup does not.1314
Medicaid coverage note
Florida has not adopted the ACA's Medicaid expansion — one of 10 non-expansion states as of KFF's 2026 status tracker. Separately, nationwide, only 13 of 50 state Medicaid fee-for-service programs covered GLP-1s for obesity as of January 2026, down from 16 in October 2025 after California, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina dropped coverage (KFF / Health Management Associates survey of state Medicaid officials, published Jan 16, 2026). Florida is not named among the states that still cover it. No Florida-specific primary source states this outright — the conclusion is corroborated by omission from KFF's covering-states list, not a direct Florida policy citation, and should be reconfirmed if a Florida AHCA-specific source becomes available. Combined with Leon County's low-income-population primary-care HPSA designation (see hpsaSummary), low-income Tallahassee residents seeking a GLP-1 for weight management have a narrow public-insurance pathway and are effectively pushed toward self-pay/telehealth — where, per localMarket above, no identified Tallahassee provider publishes a price under $100.1516

Florida has not expanded Medicaid, and is not among the states still covering GLP-1s for obesity

Florida is one of 10 non-expansion states as of KFF's 2026 status tracker 15. Nationally, only 13 of 50 state Medicaid fee-for-service programs covered GLP-1s for obesity as of January 2026, down from 16 in October 2025 after California, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina dropped coverage, per KFF and Health Management Associates' survey of state Medicaid officials published January 16, 2026 16. Florida is not named among the states that still cover it.

No Florida-specific primary source states this outright: the conclusion is corroborated by omission from KFF's covering-states list rather than a direct Florida AHCA citation, and should be reconfirmed if a Florida-specific source becomes available 16. Combined with Leon County's low-income-population primary-care HPSA designation, low-income Tallahassee residents seeking a GLP-1 for weight management have a narrow public-insurance pathway and are effectively pushed toward self-pay, where no identified local provider publishes a price under $100 8101112.

What GLP-1 care costs in Tallahassee today

New Horizon Wellness, 2633 Mahan Dr, publishes flat monthly semaglutide pricing: a Medical-Only Program at $250/mo for months one through five, then $350/mo maintenance, and a Full Program adding weekly follow-ups and lipotropic injections at $350/mo for months one through five, then $450/mo. No tirzepatide price is published 10.

Evita Med Spa, 313 Norton Drive Suite 101, bills per visit rather than monthly: a $75 initial consultation, waived if the first injection happens at that visit, then injection and medication visits described as beginning at $100 per visit, with total cost varying by drug and dose. The page names only GLP-1 agonists, not a brand or dose, and does not state whether every weekly check-in is separately billed 11. Sanctuary Wellness Institute lists a downtown address at 101 N Monroe St Suite 800 but delivers its program entirely by telehealth, with visible page pricing of $225 the first month and $275 thereafter as a flat all-inclusive membership; the page's own schema markup separately lists a conflicting $99 to $149/mo range that reads as stale structured data, and the visible figure is the one used here 12. All checked 2026-08-28.

Astra's national price is $68/month for semaglutide and $118/month for tirzepatide on 12-month plans, $816 and $1,416 billed annually. That price is identical in every state Astra serves; there is no city rate.

Two bariatric centers in a metro of 397,000, and a shortage aimed at low-income residents

Leon County carries three active or recent HRSA low-income-population HPSA designations, all population-group rather than whole-county geographic: Primary Care at score 16, designated 11/10/2003, base population 96,509 with about 34,597 estimated underserved; Mental Health at score 18, designated 9/24/2001, same 96,509 base with about 68,051 estimated underserved; and Dental Health at score 19, designated 9/1/2022, base 102,787 with about 87,587 estimated underserved, currently listed Proposed For Withdrawal 89. The county's general population is not classified as under-provided; its low-income and Medicaid-eligible residents specifically are.

Specialist depth is unusual for a metro of about 397,000. Tallahassee Memorial HealthCare runs the region's only MBSAQIP-accredited bariatric surgery program, with two fellowship-trained surgeons and a robotic platform, plus a TMH Physician Partners Endocrinology, Obesity & Diabetes practice, and HCA Florida Capital Hospital runs a second, separate Bariatric Center, likely tied to the city's role as state capital and its FSU-anchored government and academic employment base 1314. The gap is not specialist scarcity: general-population access to weight-management specialists looks solid, access for the low-income subgroup does not.

Astra is licensed in all 50 states, Florida included, and publishes one price nationally rather than a per-visit ladder. See the Florida GLP-1 overview for statewide context.

Astra treats patients in Florida through state-licensed physicians.

Local options

  • New Horizon Wellness (Tallahassee) — Physical clinic at 2633 Mahan Dr, Tallahassee, FL 32308 (small FL chain also in Jacksonville Beach, The Villages, and Winter Haven). Publishes flat monthly semaglutide pricing: Medical-Only Program $250/mo (months 1-5), then $350/mo maintenance; Full Program (adds weekly follow-ups + lipotropic injections) $350/mo (months 1-5), then $450/mo maintenance. No tirzepatide price published. https://newhorizonclinics.com/semaglutide/ (checked 2026-08-28)
  • Evita Med Spa — Med spa at 313 Norton Drive, Suite 101, Tallahassee, FL 32308. Bills per visit rather than a flat monthly plan: $75 initial consultation (waived if the first injection happens at that same visit), then injection/medication visits described as beginning at $100 per visit — total cost varies with which GLP-1 and dose is administered. The page names only "GLP-1 agonists," not a specific brand or dose, and does not state that every weekly check-in is separately billed at $100. https://evitamedspa.com/services/medical-weight-loss-program/ (checked 2026-08-28)
  • Sanctuary Wellness Institute — Lists a downtown Tallahassee address (101 N Monroe St, Suite 800) but delivers its GLP-1 program entirely via telehealth — no in-person visits required. Visible page price: $225 the first month, $275 each month thereafter, framed as one flat all-inclusive membership (consult, medication, supplies, shipping, labs). Note: the page's own schema.org markup separately lists a conflicting $99-149/mo range that reads as stale structured data; the $225/$275 figure in the visible copy is the one used here. https://sanctuarywellnessinstitute.com/weight-loss/semaglutide-tallahassee-fl.php (checked 2026-08-28)

Frequently asked questions

Is Astra cheaper than local GLP-1 clinics in Tallahassee?

Often, yes. Astra's national price is $68/month for semaglutide and $118/month for tirzepatide, both on 12-month plans, the same in every city. In Tallahassee, the three clinics that publish a price all run higher: New Horizon Wellness charges $250-450/month for semaglutide, Sanctuary Wellness Institute charges $225-275/month for its telehealth membership, and Evita Med Spa bills per visit starting at $100 plus a $75 consult. Four other Tallahassee providers advertise GLP-1s but publish no price at all, so a same-medication comparison isn't possible there. Astra's price does not change by city or state.

Is Tallahassee's obesity rate higher than the Florida state average?

Yes. Tallahassee's adult obesity rate is 34.1% (CDC PLACES, BRFSS 2023 data), compared with 33.1% for Leon County as a whole and 30.1% for Florida statewide (CDC BRFSS, 2023). Tallahassee runs hotter than both its home county and its state.

Does Florida Medicaid cover Ozempic, Wegovy, or Zepbound for weight loss in Leon County?

Unlikely, and Florida hasn't expanded Medicaid eligibility in the first place. Florida is one of 10 states that has not adopted the ACA's Medicaid expansion (KFF, 2026 tracker). Separately, nationwide, only 13 of 50 state Medicaid programs covered GLP-1s for obesity as of January 2026 (KFF/Health Management Associates survey) — a number that's shrinking, not growing. Florida is not listed among the states that cover it. Low-income Leon County residents seeking a GLP-1 for weight management are effectively pointed toward self-pay or telehealth.

Is there a shortage of primary care or weight-loss doctors in Tallahassee?

Not for the general population — Tallahassee actually has above-average bariatric specialist depth for its size. But HRSA designates Leon County's low-income population specifically — not the county as a whole — as short on both primary care (score 16) and mental health providers (score 18), based on a shared base population of about 96,500 residents. The access gap in Tallahassee is about income, not geography.

Do Tallahassee Memorial and HCA Florida Capital Hospital offer bariatric surgery locally?

Yes. Tallahassee Memorial HealthCare runs the region's only MBSAQIP-accredited bariatric surgery program, with two fellowship-trained surgeons and a robotic surgical platform, plus a dedicated endocrinology and obesity-medicine practice. HCA Florida Capital Hospital runs a second, separate bariatric center. That specialist depth is unusual for a metro of about 397,000 people, though it doesn't reach every income bracket equally (see the primary-care shortage answer above).

Sources

  1. CDC PLACES Place Data 2025 release — Tallahassee city obesity (34.1%, BRFSS 2023) — https://data.cdc.gov/resource/eav7-hnsx.json?stateabbr=FL&locationname=Tallahassee&measureid=OBESITY&data_value_type=Crude%20prevalence
  2. CDC PLACES County Data 2025 release — Leon County obesity (33.1%, BRFSS 2023) — https://data.cdc.gov/resource/swc5-untb.json?stateabbr=FL&locationname=Leon&measureid=OBESITY&data_value_type=Crude%20prevalence
  3. CDC BRFSS — Florida state obesity (30.1%, 2023, Total stratification) — https://data.cdc.gov/resource/hn4x-zwk7.json?%24where=YearStart%3D2023%20AND%20LocationDesc%3D%27Florida%27%20AND%20Class%3D%27Obesity%20/%20Weight%20Status%27%20AND%20StratificationCategory1%3D%27Total%27
  4. U.S. Census Bureau Population Estimates Program — Vintage 2025 CBSA population (Tallahassee, FL Metro Area = 397,442 as of 7/1/2025) — https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/popest/tables/2020-2025/metro/totals/cbsa-met-est2025-pop.xlsx
  5. U.S. Census Bureau Population Estimates Program — Vintage 2025 city population (Tallahassee city = 204,902 as of 7/1/2025) — https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/popest/datasets/2020-2025/cities/totals/sub-est2025.csv
  6. Census Reporter (ACS 2024 1-yr, table B19013) — Tallahassee city median household income — https://api.censusreporter.org/1.0/data/show/latest?table_ids=B19013&geo_ids=16000US1270600
  7. Census Reporter (ACS 2024 1-yr, table B27001) — Tallahassee city health insurance coverage (uninsuredPct derived from this) — https://api.censusreporter.org/1.0/data/show/latest?table_ids=B27001&geo_ids=16000US1270600
  8. HRSA HPSA shortage-area finder (Leon County low-income-population designations) — https://data.hrsa.gov/tools/shortage-area/hpsa-find
  9. HRSA HPSA GIS MapServer (raw query source for Primary Care/Mental Health/Dental HPSA records) — https://gisportal.hrsa.gov/server/rest/services/Shortage/HealthProfessionalShortageAreas_FS/MapServer
  10. New Horizon Wellness — Tallahassee semaglutide pricing — https://newhorizonclinics.com/semaglutide/
  11. Evita Med Spa — Medical Weight-Loss Program pricing — https://evitamedspa.com/services/medical-weight-loss-program/
  12. Sanctuary Wellness Institute — Tallahassee GLP-1 telehealth pricing — https://sanctuarywellnessinstitute.com/weight-loss/semaglutide-tallahassee-fl.php
  13. Tallahassee Memorial HealthCare — Bariatric Surgery program — https://www.tmh.org/services/weight-loss-management/bariatric-surgery
  14. HCA Florida Capital Hospital — Weight-Loss Surgery / Bariatric Center — https://www.hcafloridahealthcare.com/locations/capital-hospital/specialties/weight-loss-surgery
  15. KFF — Status of State Medicaid Expansion Decisions (Florida: Not Adopted) — https://www.kff.org/status-of-state-medicaid-expansion-decisions/
  16. KFF — Medicaid Coverage of and Spending on GLP-1s (published Jan 16, 2026) — https://www.kff.org/medicaid/medicaid-coverage-of-and-spending-on-glp-1s/

Last reviewed:

Educational information, not medical advice. Treatment requires evaluation by a licensed physician.