GLP-1 Weight Loss in Omaha: What Weekly Injection Visits Really Cost

Omaha's adult obesity rate, Nebraska Medicaid's missing obesity indication, the weekly-visit pricing model at local clinics, and the safety-net shortage designations.

37.5% of Omaha adults have obesity, per the CDC's PLACES place-level estimates from the 2023 BRFSS, crude prevalence 1, slightly above Douglas County's 36.9% 2 and Nebraska's 36.6% 3, all from the same survey year.

The rate is not the outlier here. What sets Omaha apart is the delivery model its retail GLP-1 market is built on: weekly in-office injections stacked on top of monthly program fees.

County
Douglas County
City population
489,2654
Metro population
1,001,0105
Adult obesity rate (2023)
37.5%1
Statewide comparison
36.6%3
Uninsured rate
8.8%6
Median household income
$71,6406
Clinician shortage context
Omaha/Douglas County has no active geographic or population-wide primary care shortage designation - the former "Low Income - South Omaha" and "Medicaid - Northeast/Southeast Omaha" population HPSAs are both withdrawn. What remains designated (HRSA Primary Care HPSA detail file, checked Aug 27, 2026) is facility-based safety-net shortage: OneWorld Community Health Centers (FQHC, HPSA score 17, designation population 114,337) and Charles Drew Health Center (FQHC, score 13, designation population 74,892) - together a designation population of roughly 189,000, concentrated in South and North Omaha - plus two Urban Indian health facilities (Fred Leroy Health and Wellness Center, score 18; Nebraska Urban Indian Health Coalition, score 17). Metro-wide physician supply is adequate on paper, but nearly 190,000 lower-income Omahans are attributed to shortage-designated safety-net clinics, where new-drug access runs through FQHC formularies rather than retail GLP-1 programs.7
Specialist access
Omaha is the specialist hub for the entire state: Nebraska Medicine's Bariatrics Center at University Tower (the UNMC academic health system, in-city) is an MBSAQIP Accredited Comprehensive Center with Adolescent and Obesity Medicine Qualifications, staffed by physicians specialty-trained in medical weight management and offering all three treatment paths - diet, medication, and surgery (200+ bariatric surgeries per year) - plus a dedicated nonsurgical medical weight loss program. The constraint in Omaha is not distance to an academic program; it is cost structure and clinic-visit burden in the retail market.89
Medicaid coverage note
Nebraska Medicaid does not cover GLP-1s for obesity. The state's own Preferred Drug List (January 2026 edition, changes effective Jan 16, 2026) contains no listing for Wegovy, Zepbound, or Saxenda and no obesity or weight-loss indication anywhere in the document; GLP-1s are covered only for Type 2 diabetes, with prior authorization (preferred agents Ozempic, Trulicity, and Victoza require a metformin trial/failure or diabetes-associated ASCVD). KFF's Jan 16, 2026 analysis confirms Nebraska is not among the 13 state Medicaid programs covering GLP-1s for obesity under fee-for-service. A legislative push exists but has not passed: Sen. Merv Riepe's LB 907 (2024) would have required Nebraska Medicaid to cover obesity treatment including GLP-1s - state DHHS projected $42.4M per year in costs - and no mandate has been enacted.1011

No help from Nebraska Medicaid, and the bill that stalled

Nebraska Medicaid does not cover GLP-1s for obesity. The state's own Preferred Drug List, January 2026 edition with changes effective Jan 16, 2026, contains no listing for Wegovy, Zepbound, or Saxenda and no obesity or weight-loss indication anywhere in the document; GLP-1s are covered only for type 2 diabetes with prior authorization, and the preferred agents Ozempic, Trulicity, and Victoza require a metformin trial and failure or diabetes-associated ASCVD 11. KFF's January 16, 2026 analysis confirms Nebraska is not among the 13 state Medicaid programs covering GLP-1s for obesity under fee-for-service 10.

Legislation was attempted and did not pass: Sen. Riepe's LB 907 (2024) would have mandated coverage of obesity treatment 12, with Nebraska DHHS projecting a $42.4 million annual cost 13.

What GLP-1 care costs in Omaha today

Call it the weekly-visit toll. Preventative Medical Clinic charges $99 to $199 per weekly injection depending on dose, plus a $125 monthly medical management fee, and patients visit the clinic once a week for the injection, dose adjustments, body composition, and weigh-ins: roughly $521 to $921 a month, plus the drive 14.

Omaha Med Spa's OWL Diet sells GLP-1s as an add-on to a weekly-visit program: $249 for the first month including consultation and weekly visits, then $125 a month covering up to four weekly weigh-in visits, with in-office compounded semaglutide starting at $40 per injection and tirzepatide at $50 per injection at the starting dose, both increased after roughly four weeks. Even at the starter dose that is about $285 to $410 a month, injected on site every week 15. Omaha Health Clinic publishes a dose ladder instead: semaglutide at $40 a month for the 0.25mg and 0.5mg tiers under a promo banner reading "SEMAGLUTIDE NOW $40/month FOR THE FIRST 2 MONTHS!", then $150 a month at 1mg and $200 a month at 2mg, with tirzepatide tiers from $200 to $500 a month 16. The teaser applies only at starter doses; at therapeutic doses the price triples to quintuples.

Astra's national price, stated once: compounded semaglutide from $68 per month and compounded tirzepatide from $118 per month on 12-month plans. The same price in Omaha as everywhere else, the same price at every dose, shipped to the door with no weekly drive.

The specialist hub with a retail problem

Omaha is the academic hub for the whole state. Nebraska Medicine's Bariatrics Center at University Tower is an MBSAQIP Accredited Comprehensive Center with Adolescent and Obesity Medicine Qualifications, performing 200-plus bariatric surgeries a year with physicians specialty-trained in medical weight management 8, and it runs a dedicated nonsurgical medical weight loss program 9. Distance is not Omaha's gap.

The gap shows up in the shortage file. No geographic or population-wide primary care designation remains in Douglas County, the former South Omaha low-income and Northeast/Southeast Omaha Medicaid-eligible designations having been withdrawn. What is still designated is facility-based: OneWorld Community Health Centers (score 17, designation population 114,337) and Charles Drew Health Center (score 13, population 74,892), together roughly 189,000 people concentrated in South and North Omaha, plus Fred Leroy Health and Wellness Center (18) and the Nebraska Urban Indian Health Coalition (17) 7. For that population, new-drug access runs through FQHC formularies, and the retail alternative prices by the week plus a drive.

What telehealth answers in Omaha is cost structure and visit burden, not mileage. State-level context is on the Nebraska GLP-1 hub.

Astra treats patients in Nebraska through state-licensed physicians.

Local options

  • Preventative Medical Clinic (Omaha & Millard) — Weekly in-clinic semaglutide model, price scales with dose: "Weekly payments for each injection (price based on dosage)" at $99 to $199 per injection, plus a $125 monthly medical management fee; patients "will visit our clinic once a week" for the injection, dosing adjustments, body composition, and weigh-ins. At four weekly injections that is roughly $521-$921 per month, plus the weekly drive. https://omahapmc.com/wellness/weight-loss/semaglutide/ (checked 2026-08-27)
  • Omaha Med Spa - The OWL Diet (Dr. Carter Abbott) — GLP-1s are sold as an add-on to a weekly-visit diet program: OWL Diet first month $249 (consultation plus weekly visits), additional months $125 including up to 4 weekly weigh-in visits; in-office compounded semaglutide/B-12 - "starting dose of Semaglutide is .25mg and costs $40 per injection" weekly, tirzepatide starting dose $50 per injection, with dose (and price) increased after roughly 4 weeks. Even at the starter dose that is about $285-$410 per month all-in, injected at the med spa every week. https://www.omahamedspa.com/omaha-weight-loss-owl-diet-glp1-phentermine (checked 2026-08-27)
  • Omaha Health Clinic — Published dose-ladder monthly pricing: semaglutide 0.25mg $40/month and 0.5mg $40/month (promo banner: "SEMAGLUTIDE NOW $40/month FOR THE FIRST 2 MONTHS!"), 1mg $150/month, 2mg $200/month; tirzepatide tiers run $200-$500/month. The $40 teaser applies only at starter doses - at therapeutic doses the price triples to quintuples. The page does not state visit cadence. https://omahahealthclinic.com/semaglutide/ (checked 2026-08-27)

Frequently asked questions

How much does semaglutide cost per month in Omaha without insurance?

It depends heavily on dose and delivery model. Omaha Health Clinic publishes a dose ladder: $40/month at 0.25-0.5mg (a first-two-months promo), $150/month at 1mg, and $200/month at 2mg, with tirzepatide tiers at $200-$500/month. Preventative Medical Clinic charges $99-$199 per weekly in-clinic injection depending on dose, plus a $125 monthly management fee - roughly $521-$921 per month. Omaha Med Spa's OWL Diet program starts compounded semaglutide at $40 per weekly injection on top of a $125-$249/month visit program, about $285-$410 per month all-in at the starter dose. All prices are from the clinics' own published pages, checked August 27, 2026.

Do Omaha weight loss clinics require weekly office visits to get GLP-1 injections?

The two Omaha programs that publish their care model do. Preventative Medical Clinic states patients "will visit our clinic once a week" for the injection, body-composition measurement, and weigh-ins. Omaha Med Spa's OWL Diet includes up to 4 weekly weigh-in visits per month, with semaglutide or tirzepatide injected in the office each week. Omaha Health Clinic's pricing page does not state its visit cadence. Telehealth programs ship medication to your door with online clinician review instead of a weekly drive.

Why does the price go up when my semaglutide or tirzepatide dose increases at Omaha clinics?

Because most Omaha clinics price per injection or per milligram tier. Preventative Medical Clinic's weekly injections run $99-$199 "based on dosage"; Omaha Health Clinic's semaglutide goes from $40/month at starter doses to $150/month at 1mg and $200/month at 2mg; Omaha Med Spa raises its per-injection price after the roughly four-week starting dose. GLP-1 dosing typically steps up over the first months of treatment, so the advertised entry price is rarely what a therapeutic dose costs. Astra charges the same flat price at every dose.

Does Nebraska Medicaid cover Wegovy or Zepbound for weight loss?

No. Nebraska's Medicaid Preferred Drug List (January 2026) lists no coverage for Wegovy, Zepbound, or Saxenda and no obesity indication anywhere in the document, and KFF's January 2026 analysis confirms Nebraska is not among the 13 state Medicaid programs covering GLP-1s for obesity. GLP-1s are covered only for Type 2 diabetes, with prior authorization. Sen. Merv Riepe's LB 907 (2024) would have required coverage of anti-obesity medications - the state projected $42.4M per year in costs - but no mandate has been enacted.

Is Astra cheaper in Omaha?

At therapeutic doses, yes - though not because of any Omaha deal: Astra's price is national, $68/month for semaglutide and $118/month for tirzepatide on 12-month plans ($816 and $1,416 per year), identical in every city and at every dose. The honest exception: Omaha Health Clinic's $40/month starter-dose promo beats $68 for the first two months at 0.25-0.5mg - but at 1mg its price is $150/month, more than double Astra's. Omaha's weekly-injection programs run roughly $285-$921 per month all-in at their published rates.

Sources

  1. CDC PLACES: Place Data, 2025 release (Omaha city obesity 37.5% crude prevalence, 95% CI 34.6-40.5, BRFSS 2023, locationid 3137000) — https://data.cdc.gov/d/eav7-hnsx
  2. CDC PLACES: County Data, 2025 release (Douglas County 36.9% crude, 95% CI 33.6-40.2, BRFSS 2023, locationid 31055) — https://data.cdc.gov/d/swc5-untb
  3. CDC BRFSS Table of BMI Categories (Nebraska 2023: Obese 36.6%, 95% CI 35.4-37.8) — https://data.cdc.gov/d/dttw-5yxu
  4. Census Vintage 2024 city population estimates, SUB-EST2024 (Omaha city 489,265, July 1 2024) — https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/popest/datasets/2020-2024/cities/totals/sub-est2024.csv
  5. Census Vintage 2024 CBSA estimates (Omaha, NE-IA MSA 1,001,010, July 1 2024) — https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/popest/datasets/2020-2024/metro/totals/cbsa-est2024-alldata.csv
  6. ACS 2024 1-year via Census Reporter, Omaha city (median household income $71,640; uninsured 8.8%) — https://censusreporter.org/profiles/16000US3137000-omaha-ne/
  7. HRSA Primary Care HPSA detail download (Douglas County NE designations, checked 2026-08-27) — https://data.hrsa.gov/data/download
  8. Nebraska Medicine Bariatrics Center at University Tower (MBSAQIP accredited comprehensive center) — https://www.nebraskamed.com/nebraska-medical-center/university-tower/bariatrics-center
  9. Nebraska Medicine nonsurgical medical weight loss program — https://www.nebraskamed.com/weight-loss/non-surgical-medical-weight-loss
  10. KFF: Medicaid Coverage of and Spending on GLP-1s (Jan 16, 2026; NE not among the 13 covering states) — https://www.kff.org/medicaid/medicaid-coverage-of-and-spending-on-glp-1s/
  11. Nebraska Medicaid Preferred Drug List with Prior Authorization Criteria, January 2026 (no Wegovy/Zepbound/Saxenda or obesity coverage; GLP-1s Type 2 diabetes only, with PA) — https://nebraska.fhsc.com/downloads/PDL/NE_PDL-20260116.pdf
  12. Nebraska Examiner: Sen. Riepe's LB 907 to expand Medicaid coverage to obesity treatment (2024) — https://nebraskaexaminer.com/briefs/nebraska-lawmaker-seeks-to-expand-medicaid-coverage-to-include-obesity/
  13. Becker's Payer: Nebraska lawmakers mull Medicaid coverage of weight loss drugs (DHHS $42.4M/yr estimate) — https://www.beckerspayer.com/policy-updates/nebraska-lawmakers-mull-medicaid-coverage-of-weight-loss-drugs/
  14. Preventative Medical Clinic semaglutide pricing page (checked 2026-08-27) — https://omahapmc.com/wellness/weight-loss/semaglutide/
  15. Omaha Med Spa OWL Diet + in-office GLP-1 pricing page (live URL, checked 2026-08-27) — https://www.omahamedspa.com/omaha-weight-loss-owl-diet-glp1-phentermine
  16. Omaha Health Clinic semaglutide dose-tier pricing page (checked 2026-08-27) — https://omahahealthclinic.com/semaglutide/

Last reviewed:

Educational information, not medical advice. Treatment requires evaluation by a licensed physician.