GLP-1 Weight Loss in Toledo: Where Cost Transparency Beats a High-Obesity, Low-Disclosure Market

Toledo's obesity rate against Ohio's, the OAC 5160-9-03(B)(1) obesity-drug exclusion, one published price out of seven providers checked, and HRSA's LI-Toledo low-income designations.

39.3% of Toledo adults have obesity (CDC PLACES 2025 release, BRFSS 2023, crude prevalence) 1, against Ohio's 36.4% in 2023 and 36.9% in 2024 2. Toledo runs nearly three points above the state it sits in.

This is a city of 265,651 inside a metro of 602,322, with a median household income of $50,562 and 5.4% uninsured 34. The local problem is not that GLP-1 providers are absent, it is that almost none of them will tell you what they charge.

County
Lucas County
City population
265,6513
Metro population
602,3224
Adult obesity rate (2023)
39.3%1
Statewide comparison
36.4%2
Uninsured rate
5.4%3
Median household income
$50,5623
Clinician shortage context
Toledo/Lucas County carries no whole-county geographic Primary Care HPSA — the general population isn't shortage-designated. HRSA's current HPSA dashboard (records last updated 07/31/2025–09/05/2025, pulled 08/27/2026) instead lists five overlapping Low-Income Population Primary Care HPSAs concentrated in Toledo-area census tracts: "LI-Toledo" (score 18/26, ~103,723 low-income residents across ~30 tracts), plus smaller ones in North, North Central, Northeast, and West Lucas County (scores 18–19). Layered on top are facility-level Primary Care HPSAs at three safety-net clinics, the highest-severity being Neighborhood Health Association of Toledo Inc. (FQHC, 313 Jefferson Ave, score 22/26), plus Compassion Health Toledo and Zepf Center (scores 15 each). Lucas County also holds a Mental Health Low-Income Population HPSA ("LI-Lucas County," score 15, ~147,644 residents) plus facility Mental Health HPSAs at the same three FQHC sites. Net read: general primary-care supply in Toledo isn't federally shortage-designated, but low-income and safety-net-dependent residents face documented, HRSA-recognized gaps in both primary care and mental health access.6
Specialist access
Toledo has real in-market bariatric/obesity-medicine capacity: ProMedica Toledo Hospital runs a dedicated Metabolic and Bariatric Center, and Mercy Health operates a Bariatrics & Weight Management program serving Toledo (with a satellite location in nearby Perrysburg). Healthgrades lists roughly 52 endocrinologists serving the Toledo area, with about 33 shown as currently accepting new patients. Supply on paper looks adequate — but neither the hospital systems nor Healthgrades/WebMD/Vitals publish current new-patient wait times online; that figure is a confirmed data gap, not a guess, and would need a direct call to verify.1213
Medicaid coverage note
Ohio Medicaid does not cover GLP-1 medications for obesity/weight-loss under the standard adult pharmacy benefit. Confirmed directly from the primary source: Ohio Administrative Code Rule 5160-9-03, paragraph (B)(1), states plainly that "Drugs for the treatment of obesity" are non-covered (verified verbatim at codes.ohio.gov). GLP-1s remain accessible through Ohio Medicaid only when prescribed for an approved indication other than weight loss — such as type 2 diabetes, with prior authorization — but the specific mechanics of Ohio's current Unified Preferred Drug List and any narrower cardiovascular-risk or MASH carve-outs were not independently re-confirmed in this pass and are flagged as an open data gap, not stated as verified fact. In practice, nearly all Toledo-area Medicaid enrollees seeking a GLP-1 for weight management alone are self-pay — the same population Astra's flat national pricing targets.16

Ohio Medicaid's obesity-drug exclusion

Ohio Medicaid does not cover GLP-1 medications for obesity or weight loss under the standard adult pharmacy benefit. Ohio Administrative Code Rule 5160-9-03, paragraph (B)(1), states plainly that drugs for the treatment of obesity are non-covered, verified verbatim at codes.ohio.gov 16.

GLP-1s remain accessible through Ohio Medicaid only when prescribed for an approved indication other than weight loss, such as type 2 diabetes with prior authorization. The specific mechanics of Ohio's current Unified Preferred Drug List, and any narrower cardiovascular-risk or MASH carve-outs, were not independently re-confirmed in this pass and are flagged here as an open data gap, not stated as verified fact 1615. In practice, nearly all Toledo-area Medicaid enrollees seeking a GLP-1 for weight management alone are self-pay.

What GLP-1 Care Costs in Toledo Today

Elite Beauty Medical Aesthetics at 5415 Monroe Street is the only one of 7 Toledo-area providers checked that publishes an actual dollar figure. Its site states verbatim: Starts at $250, including your consultation and medication, for compounded semaglutide with vitamin B6. That is a starting one-time price covering the in-office consult, medical evaluation, and first shipment, not a confirmed recurring monthly rate, and no tirzepatide price is listed (checked 2026-08-27) 8.

Dr. Jabaly, MD, Family Doctor, Medical Clinic-Toledo, whose identity and address are independently confirmed via the NPPES NPI Registry (NPI 1407827074, 4405 N. Holland-Sylvania Rd #104), lists general weight-loss visit fees on its own site, $199 initial consult, $140 follow-up, and multi-visit packages of $910 to $2,000, and offers semaglutide and tirzepatide injectables, but its GLP-1 page says only Ask about our monthly plan, including injection, with no drug or monthly GLP-1 price published. Those fee figures were not independently re-confirmed in the most recent fact-check pass and are flagged as provider-published, pending re-verification 910. TIA Revitalize publishes only initial-visit fees, Semaglutide Medical Management Virtual (Initial Appointment) 30 minutes at $29.00 and the tirzepatide equivalent at $50.00, with the actual medication cost explicitly withheld: pricing is discussed during your free consultation based on your personalized treatment plan 11.

Astra's price is national and flat: $68/month for semaglutide and $118/month for tirzepatide on 12-month plans, $816 and $1,416 billed annually, the same in Toledo as everywhere else. No Toledo-specific rate or discount exists.

Real supply, undocumented waits, designated low-income gaps

Toledo has real in-market bariatric and obesity-medicine capacity: ProMedica Toledo Hospital runs a dedicated Metabolic and Bariatric Center 12, and Mercy Health operates a Bariatrics & Weight Management program serving Toledo with a satellite location in nearby Perrysburg 13. Healthgrades lists roughly 52 endocrinologists serving the Toledo area, about 33 shown as currently accepting new patients 14. Supply on paper looks adequate, but neither the hospital systems nor the directories publish current new-patient wait times, which is a confirmed data gap rather than a guess.

Toledo and Lucas County carry no whole-county geographic Primary Care HPSA. HRSA's current dashboard, with records last updated 07/31/2025 to 09/05/2025 and pulled 08/27/2026, instead lists five overlapping Low-Income Population Primary Care HPSAs concentrated in Toledo-area census tracts: LI-Toledo (score 18/26, roughly 103,723 low-income residents across about 30 tracts), plus smaller designations in North, North Central, Northeast, and West Lucas County scoring 18 to 19. Facility-level Primary Care HPSAs sit on top at three safety-net clinics, the most severe being Neighborhood Health Association of Toledo Inc. (FQHC, 313 Jefferson Ave, score 22/26), plus Compassion Health Toledo and Zepf Center at 15 each, and Lucas County also holds a Mental Health Low-Income Population HPSA, LI-Lucas County, score 15, covering roughly 147,644 residents 67.

So general primary-care supply in Toledo isn't federally shortage-designated, but low-income and safety-net-dependent residents face documented, HRSA-recognized gaps. Telehealth answers the part that a bariatric center cannot: a published price and a prescriber without a referral queue. See the Ohio GLP-1 overview for statewide rules.

Astra treats patients in Ohio through state-licensed physicians.

Local options

  • Elite Beauty Medical Aesthetics (Toledo, OH) — Only one of 7 Toledo-area providers checked that publishes an actual dollar figure. Site states verbatim: "Starts at $250, including your consultation and medication," for compounded semaglutide with vitamin B6 — a starting/one-time price covering the in-office consult, medical evaluation, and first shipment, not a confirmed recurring monthly rate. No tirzepatide price is listed. Address confirmed exact: 5415 Monroe Street, Toledo, OH 43623. (Site displays its own business name as "Elite Beauty Medical Aesthetics"; initial research referred to it informally as "Elite Beauty Toledo" — corrected here.) https://elitebeautytoledo.com/semaglutide-glp-1/ (checked 2026-08-27)
  • Dr. Jabaly, MD — Family Doctor, Medical Clinic-Toledo — Provider identity and address independently confirmed via the NPPES NPI Registry (NPI 1407827074, Georges T. Jabaly MD, Family Medicine, 4405 N. Holland-Sylvania Rd #104, Toledo, OH 43623). The practice's own site (checked 2026-08-27) lists general weight-loss visit fees — $199 initial consult, $140 follow-up, multi-visit packages $910–$2,000 — and offers semaglutide/tirzepatide injectables, but its GLP-1 page states only "Ask about our monthly plan, including injection": no specific drug or monthly GLP-1 price is published. Note: these fee figures were not independently re-confirmed in the most recent fact-check pass (a tooling limitation, not a contradiction) — flagged here as provider-published, pending re-verification. https://www.doctorjabaly.com/program-costs/ (checked 2026-08-27)
  • TIA Revitalize — Publishes only initial-visit fees for GLP-1 management: "Semaglutide Medical Management Virtual (Initial Appointment) 30 minutes – $29.00" and "Tirzepatide Medical Management Virtual (Initial Appointment) 30 minutes – $50.00." The actual medication/monthly cost is explicitly withheld: "Pricing is discussed during your free consultation based on your personalized treatment plan." https://tiarevitalize.com/services/weight-management (checked 2026-08-27)

Frequently asked questions

Is Astra cheaper than local GLP-1 providers in Toledo?

Astra's national plan pricing is $68/month for semaglutide and $118/month for tirzepatide (12-month plans, billed annually at $816/$1,416) — the same rate in Toledo as everywhere else Astra operates. Of the seven Toledo-area providers checked, only one — Elite Beauty Medical Aesthetics on Monroe Street — publishes an actual price on its own site: a $250 starting rate for compounded semaglutide (bundling the consult and first shipment, not a confirmed monthly figure). The rest, including Dr. Jabaly's practice and TIA Revitalize, either gate cost behind a booked consultation or disclose only initial-visit fees. Against the one number Toledo's market discloses, Astra's published monthly rate is dramatically lower, and unlike most local options, it's public before you book anything.

How much does semaglutide or tirzepatide cost in Toledo, Ohio?

Toledo's local market is largely price-opaque. Of seven providers checked — Elite Beauty Medical Aesthetics, Dr. Jabaly MD, TIA Revitalize, Synergy Health & Wellness, Lavish Me Spa, DripMed, and pekomd — only Elite Beauty Medical Aesthetics states an actual figure ($250 starting), TIA Revitalize discloses a $29–$50 virtual initial-visit fee before quoting any medication price, and the rest publish nothing. Astra's price is public everywhere it operates: $68/month for semaglutide and $118/month for tirzepatide on a 12-month plan ($816/$1,416 billed annually) — the same rate in Toledo as in every city Astra serves.

Does Ohio Medicaid cover Wegovy, Ozempic, or Zepbound for weight loss?

No. Ohio Administrative Code Rule 5160-9-03(B)(1) explicitly lists "drugs for the treatment of obesity" as non-covered under the Medicaid pharmacy benefit. GLP-1s stay accessible through Medicaid only when prescribed for an approved indication other than weight loss itself, such as type 2 diabetes with prior authorization — the exact mechanics of Ohio's current preferred-drug-list carve-outs weren't independently confirmed for this page and are treated as an open question, not a guess. In practice, Toledo-area Medicaid enrollees seeking a GLP-1 purely for weight management are self-pay, same as everywhere else in the state.

Why is Toledo's obesity rate higher than the Ohio state average?

Toledo's crude adult obesity rate is 39.3% (CDC PLACES, BRFSS 2023 data year, place-level), about 2.9 points above Ohio's statewide 2023 rate of 36.4% and 2.4 points above the state's newest available 2024 figure (36.9%). This isn't a one-year anomaly — Toledo has run persistently above the state average. The city's median household income ($50,562) trails Ohio's by more than $20,800, a gap that tracks with the well-documented link between lower income and higher obesity prevalence, though income alone doesn't fully explain it.

Is Toledo, Ohio considered a health professional shortage area?

Not as a whole county for general primary care — Lucas County doesn't carry a countywide geographic Primary Care HPSA designation. But HRSA does designate five overlapping Low-Income Population Primary Care HPSAs across Toledo-area census tracts (scores 18–19), plus facility-level shortage designations at three safety-net clinics, most severely Neighborhood Health Association of Toledo (score 22/26). Lucas County also carries a Low-Income Population Mental Health HPSA. The practical read: general primary-care supply isn't shortage-designated, but low-income and safety-net-dependent Toledo residents face HRSA-recognized, documented gaps in both primary and mental health care access.

Sources

  1. CDC PLACES 2025 release (BRFSS 2023) — Toledo city obesity, crude & age-adjusted prevalence — https://data.cdc.gov/resource/eav7-hnsx.json?stateabbr=OH&locationname=Toledo&measureid=OBESITY
  2. CDC BRFSS Prevalence Data — Ohio statewide adult obesity, 2011–2024 trend — https://data.cdc.gov/resource/hn4x-zwk7.json
  3. Census ACS 2024 1-year — Toledo city population, median household income, health insurance coverage by age/sex (geoid 16000US3977000) — https://api.censusreporter.org/1.0/data/show/latest?table_ids=B01003,B19013,B27001&geo_ids=16000US3977000
  4. Census ACS 2024 5-year — Toledo, OH Metro Area population (CBSA 45780) — https://api.censusreporter.org/1.0/data/show/latest?table_ids=B01003&geo_ids=31000US45780
  5. Census ACS — Ohio statewide and U.S. national median household income (comparison) — https://api.censusreporter.org/1.0/data/show/latest?table_ids=B01003,B19013&geo_ids=04000US39
  6. HRSA Health Workforce Shortage Areas — national HPSA dashboard export (Lucas County, OH rows), pulled 08/27/2026 — https://data.hrsa.gov/DataDownload/DD_Files/HPSA_DASHBOARD.csv
  7. HRSA HPSA Find tool — https://data.hrsa.gov/tools/shortage-area/hpsa-find
  8. Elite Beauty Medical Aesthetics (Toledo) — Semaglutide/GLP-1 pricing page — https://elitebeautytoledo.com/semaglutide-glp-1/
  9. Dr. Jabaly, MD (Toledo) — Program Costs page — https://www.doctorjabaly.com/program-costs/
  10. Dr. Jabaly, MD (Toledo) — Semaglutide/Tirzepatide injectable weight loss page — https://www.doctorjabaly.com/semaglutide-and-tirzepatide-injectable-weight-loss/
  11. TIA Revitalize (Toledo) — Weight Management service page with visit fees — https://tiarevitalize.com/services/weight-management
  12. ProMedica Toledo Hospital — Metabolic and Bariatric Center — https://www.promedica.org/toledo-hospital/Pages/specialty-services/metabolic-and-bariatric-center.aspx
  13. Mercy Health — Bariatrics & Weight Management locations — https://www.mercy.com/locations/specialty-locations/bariatrics-weight-management
  14. Healthgrades — Endocrinologists near Toledo, OH — https://www.healthgrades.com/diabetes-metabolism-endocrinology-directory/oh-ohio/toledo
  15. KFF — Medicaid Coverage of and Spending on GLP-1s (state coverage landscape) — https://www.kff.org/medicaid/medicaid-coverage-of-and-spending-on-glp-1s/
  16. Ohio Administrative Code Rule 5160-9-03 — Pharmacy services: covered drugs and associated limitations (obesity-drug exclusion, paragraph B(1)) — https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code/rule-5160-9-03

Last reviewed:

Educational information, not medical advice. Treatment requires evaluation by a licensed physician.