GLP-1 Weight Loss in Virginia Beach: What It Costs and Who Covers It
An above-state obesity rate, DMAS coverage that is real but heavily documented, and local cash pay running 3.8x to 4.4x Astra's national plan price.
Virginia Beach's crude adult obesity prevalence is 36.5% (CDC PLACES, BRFSS 2023) 1, above Virginia's statewide 34.3% for the same 2023 survey year 2. Virginia's most populous locality holds 454,808 residents inside a 1,794,278-person metro, with a 6.4% uninsured rate and a $94,579 median household income 3456.
Virginia Beach is one of Virginia's 38 independent cities and is its own county-equivalent (FIPS 51810). Specialty care is present here rather than absent; what is scarce is a published price.
County
None — independent city; Virginia Beach is one of Virginia's 38 independent cities and is its own county-equivalent (FIPS 51810), Virginia's most populous locality.
No active primary care Geographic HPSA currently covers Virginia Beach City: all 4 historical primary-care HPSA designations located there in HRSA's records ("Norfolk Area 1," "Norfolk Area 2," "Norfolk Area 3," and "Pungo") were withdrawn in 1988-1992 and never re-designated (HRSA BCD_HPSA_FCT_DET_PC.csv, pulled 2026-08-28). No Dental Health HPSA record for Virginia Beach City was found in the corresponding HRSA dental file. There IS one currently active designation: "ME - Virginia Beach MHCA," a Mental Health HPSA for the Medicaid-Eligible Population, HPSA score 15, designated 6/2/2023 and last updated 2/12/2026, covering a designated population of 57,119 Medicaid-eligible residents (HRSA BCD_HPSA_FCT_DET_MH.csv). Net read: Virginia Beach is not primary-care-underserved in HRSA's own terms, but lower-income/Medicaid residents specifically face a recognized behavioral-health provider shortage — relevant since medically supervised GLP-1 programs typically bundle behavioral/lifestyle support.78
Specialist access
Unlike smaller tier-2 markets, Virginia Beach sits inside a ~1.8M-person metro with confirmed endocrinology/diabetes specialty infrastructure rather than a specialist desert: Sentara Endocrinology Specialists operates a dedicated location at 1925 Glenn Mitchell Drive, Suite 202, Virginia Beach, VA 23456, under Sentara Princess Anne Hospital, evaluating and managing endocrine-system and diabetes disorders. Sentara Healthcare (the region's dominant system) and the newly merged Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University (formerly Eastern Virginia Medical School, headquartered a short drive away in Norfolk) both serve the metro. This is a presence-based finding — confirms specialty care exists in-city — not a wait-time or capacity claim, since no public wait-time data source was found.9
Medicaid coverage note
Virginia Medicaid (DMAS) covers GLP-1 weight-loss drugs, but access is tightly gated. Per DMAS's Pharmacy Provider Manual, Chapter IV — Covered Services and Limitations (rev. 3/4/2026), FDA-approved weight-loss drugs "may be covered for members who meet specific criteria," with required documentation covering a BMI/physical evaluation, a psychiatric/psychosocial evaluation, evidence of a documented functional disability, evidence of prior conservative medical management, ruling out other causes of obesity, and physician certification that the member's life is at risk due to obesity. Separately, Virginia's Medicaid Preferred Drug List / Common Core Formulary (v. 1/1/2025) places "Weight Management Agents" in a closed class: older non-GLP-1 drugs (orlistat, Imcivree, phentermine, benzphetamine, diethylpropion) are preferred with no extra authorization, while Wegovy, Zepbound, and Saxenda are non-preferred and require a Weight Management Agents Service Authorization form. Specific numeric thresholds sometimes cited elsewhere (e.g., a minimum BMI cutoff, or a required prior 6-month trial of a non-GLP-1 drug) could not be independently confirmed from these primary DMAS documents and are treated here as an open gap, not stated as fact. Layered on Virginia Beach's active Medicaid-Eligible Population Mental Health HPSA (57,119 residents — see hpsaSummary), Medicaid-covered residents face both a real documentation bar to get a GLP-1 approved and a recognized shortage of behavioral-health providers to support the required psychosocial/lifestyle-intervention piece.1314
Virginia Medicaid covers GLP-1s, behind a documentation wall
Virginia Medicaid (DMAS) covers GLP-1 weight-loss drugs, but access is tightly gated. Per DMAS's Pharmacy Provider Manual, Chapter IV, Covered Services and Limitations (rev. 3/4/2026), FDA-approved weight-loss drugs "may be covered for members who meet specific criteria," with required documentation covering a BMI/physical evaluation, a psychiatric/psychosocial evaluation, evidence of a documented functional disability, evidence of prior conservative medical management, ruling out other causes of obesity, and physician certification that the member's life is at risk due to obesity 13.
Separately, Virginia's Medicaid Preferred Drug List / Common Core Formulary (v. 1/1/2025) places "Weight Management Agents" in a closed class: older non-GLP-1 drugs (orlistat, Imcivree, phentermine, benzphetamine, diethylpropion) are preferred with no extra authorization, while Wegovy, Zepbound and Saxenda are non-preferred and require a Weight Management Agents Service Authorization form 14. Specific numeric thresholds sometimes cited elsewhere, such as a minimum BMI cutoff or a required prior 6-month trial of a non-GLP-1 drug, could not be independently confirmed from these primary DMAS documents and are treated here as an open gap, not stated as fact.
That paperwork lands on a city where 57,119 Medicaid-eligible residents sit inside an active Mental Health HPSA 8, so the required psychosocial and lifestyle-intervention piece is harder to complete here than the rule text implies.
What GLP-1 care costs in Virginia Beach today
VB Salt Spa & Wellness Center, at 1817 Republic Road, Suite B, publishes exact cash pricing on its own site: semaglutide $300/month ($100 per injection) and tirzepatide $450/month ($125 per injection). The program is RN-guided with weekly injections, dose adjustments and lab work as needed, is marketed as "surgeon owned and overseen," and the page warns that ordering injections online or through mail-order sources can be dangerous 10.
The other two checked providers are price-opaque, and should not be read as comparable numbers. Restore Hyper Wellness at 1860 Laskin Road, Suite 101 lists "GLP1 Plans" featuring semaglutide and tirzepatide under Advanced Medical Services, confirmed live, but publishes no medication price at all; the only dollar figure on the page is a generic $30 per-visit member up-charge alongside a disclaimer that "prices and services... may vary per location" 11. Optimal Well MD, at 2105 McComas Way, Suite 202, published its own 2026 guide to what semaglutide costs in Virginia Beach and deliberately withholds any dollar figure, directing readers to book a consultation instead 12.
Astra's price is national and stated once: $68/mo for semaglutide and $118/mo for tirzepatide on 12-month plans ($816 / $1,416 billed annually), the same in every city. Against Virginia Beach's one published local price, that is roughly 4.41x for semaglutide ($300/$68) and 3.81x for tirzepatide ($450/$118) 10.
Specialists are here; the shortage is behavioral health
Unlike smaller tier-2 markets, Virginia Beach sits inside a roughly 1.8M-person metro with confirmed endocrinology and diabetes specialty infrastructure rather than a specialist desert. Sentara Endocrinology Specialists operates a dedicated location at 1925 Glenn Mitchell Drive, Suite 202, Virginia Beach, VA 23456, under Sentara Princess Anne Hospital, evaluating and managing endocrine-system and diabetes disorders 9. Sentara Healthcare and the newly merged Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University, formerly Eastern Virginia Medical School and headquartered a short drive away in Norfolk, both serve the metro. This is a presence-based finding that specialty care exists in-city, not a wait-time or capacity claim, since no public wait-time data source was found.
The federal shortage picture reads the same way. All four historical primary-care HPSA designations located in Virginia Beach City, "Norfolk Area 1," "Norfolk Area 2," "Norfolk Area 3" and "Pungo," were withdrawn between 1988 and 1992 and never re-designated, and no dental HPSA record was found 7. One designation is active: "ME - Virginia Beach MHCA," a Mental Health HPSA for the Medicaid-Eligible Population, score 15, designated 6/2/2023 and last updated 2/12/2026, covering 57,119 Medicaid-eligible residents 8.
For a resident who does not qualify for DMAS coverage and does not want to pay VB Salt Spa's cash rate, telehealth is the remaining path: a published national price, no referral, and no consultation required to learn the number.
Astra treats patients in Virginia through state-licensed physicians.
Local options
VB Salt Spa & Wellness Center — 1817 Republic Road, Suite B, Virginia Beach, VA 23454 — Publishes exact cash pricing on its own site: semaglutide $300/month ($100 per injection) and tirzepatide $450/month ($125 per injection). Program is RN-guided with weekly injections, dose adjustments, and lab work as needed, and is marketed as "surgeon owned and overseen" — an explicit contrast to mail-order compounded programs; the page also warns that ordering injections online or through mail-order sources can be dangerous. Both prices run roughly 3.8x-4.4x Astra's flat national $68/mo (sema) and $118/mo (tirz) 12-month-plan pricing ($300/$68 = 4.41x; $450/$118 = 3.81x). https://vbsaltspa.com/glp1-weight-loss-new-pricing-vb/(checked 2026-08-28)
Restore Hyper Wellness — Virginia Beach, 1860 Laskin Road, Suite 101, Virginia Beach, VA 23454 — National IV-therapy/wellness franchise with a Virginia Beach studio; its Virginia Beach GLP-1 page lists "GLP1 Plans" featuring semaglutide and tirzepatide under Advanced Medical Services, confirmed live via direct fetch — but the page publishes no medication price at all. The only dollar figure on it is a generic $30 per-visit member up-charge, alongside a disclaimer that "prices and services... may vary per location." Checked and confirmed price-opaque, not a second priced comparable next to VB Salt Spa's published numbers. https://www.restore.com/local/glp1-medication-va-virginia-beach-va001(checked 2026-08-28)
Optimal Well MD — 2105 McComas Way, Suite 202, Virginia Beach, VA 23456 — A local medical practice that published its own 2026 "How much does semaglutide cost in Virginia Beach" guide but deliberately withholds any dollar figure, stating pricing depends on medication, dose, labs, and supervision level and directing readers to book a consultation — confirmed price-opaque even though the practice writes directly about cost. https://optimalwellmd.com/weight-loss/how-much-does-semaglutide-cost-in-virginia-beach-2026-guide/(checked 2026-08-28)
Frequently asked questions
How much does semaglutide or tirzepatide cost at a weight loss clinic in Virginia Beach?
Prices vary widely and only some Virginia Beach providers publish them. VB Salt Spa & Wellness Center (1817 Republic Road, Suite B) posts cash pricing of $300/month for semaglutide ($100/injection) and $450/month for tirzepatide ($125/injection) on its own site (checked 8/28/2026). Restore Hyper Wellness's Virginia Beach GLP-1 page lists semaglutide and tirzepatide as available but does not publish a medication price — only a generic $30 per-visit member up-charge. Optimal Well MD's 2026 Virginia Beach semaglutide-cost guide also declines to state a number, saying price depends on dose, labs, and supervision level. Where a price is published, Virginia Beach cash-pay rates run several times Astra's flat national plan pricing.
Does Virginia Medicaid cover Ozempic, Wegovy, or other GLP-1 weight loss drugs?
Yes, with tight gating. DMAS's Pharmacy Provider Manual (Chapter IV, rev. 3/4/2026) allows coverage of FDA-approved weight-loss drugs only with a documented BMI/physical evaluation, a psychiatric/psychosocial evaluation, evidence of functional disability, evidence of prior conservative weight-management attempts, other causes of obesity ruled out, and physician certification that the member's obesity is life-threatening. Virginia's Medicaid Preferred Drug List (v. 1/1/2025) also places Wegovy, Zepbound, and Saxenda in a non-preferred, closed "Weight Management Agents" class requiring a separate Service Authorization form. Some specific numeric thresholds reported elsewhere (like a minimum BMI cutoff or a required prior-drug-trial length) could not be independently confirmed from these primary documents and are an open question, not a stated fact.
Is Virginia Beach considered a health professional shortage area (HPSA)?
Not for primary care: HRSA's own records show all four historical primary-care HPSA designations located in Virginia Beach ("Norfolk Area 1/2/3" and "Pungo") were withdrawn between 1988 and 1992 and never re-designated. Virginia Beach does carry one currently active HPSA: a Mental Health shortage designation for the Medicaid-Eligible Population ("ME - Virginia Beach MHCA," score 15, designated 6/2/2023, last updated 2/12/2026), covering 57,119 Medicaid-eligible residents. That matters for GLP-1 access specifically because Medicaid's own coverage criteria require a documented psychosocial/lifestyle-intervention component that a recognized behavioral-health shortage can make harder to complete.
Is Virginia Beach's obesity rate higher than the Virginia state average?
Yes, for the same year. CDC PLACES puts Virginia Beach's crude adult obesity prevalence at 36.5% (BRFSS 2023), above Virginia's statewide 34.3% for that same 2023 survey year. Note the state figure has since moved: CDC's newest state-level release shows Virginia's overall rate at 32.3% for BRFSS 2024 — a decline worth flagging, though no matching 2024 city-level figure exists yet to compare against.
How does Astra's monthly price compare to local Virginia Beach med spas and wellness studios?
Astra's national plan price is $68/month for semaglutide and $118/month for tirzepatide, billed annually ($816/$1,416 per year) — the same in Virginia Beach as everywhere else Astra operates. The one Virginia Beach provider with a published, comparable price — VB Salt Spa & Wellness Center — charges $300/month for semaglutide and $450/month for tirzepatide, roughly 3.8x to 4.4x Astra's rate for the same medications. Two other checked local providers, Restore Hyper Wellness and Optimal Well MD, offer GLP-1 programs but don't publish a price to compare against at all.